Break every chain!

I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

– John 10:10

Jesus came to give us life! He came to set us free. He came to break every chain. And yet we willingly put them back on when they’re offered to us.
We fill the void that we feel inside of us with all kinds of things – food, social media, sex, drugs, pills …

I was at a meeting about addiction and illegal drugs last week. And one of the speakers said, that many young people aren’t able to cope with their everyday life anymore without using. That left me with a sense of despair. This world is so broken, familiy structures aren’t reliable anymore, the pressure to be someone rises. Once again I realised that we desperately need God! This world needs God!

He came to give us life to the full – He offers us a secure place where we can be ourselves. He offers us peace. And his offer is for free! We don’t have to do something in return. It’s just there! No happy-hour, take-it-now-cause-otherwise-it’ll-be-gone-and-you-miss-out-on-it-offer, like the ones from my mobile phone company. His offer stands!

But for some reason, that I will never understand, we don’t take Him up on His offer. When we come home after a full day of work it seems to be easier to watch TV than to sit down in His presence and have our batteries recharged by our designer who knows better than anyone what we need. We are offered a healthy, rich, incredibly tasteful meal and yet we choose the greasy, unhealthy, unnourishing junk. We settle for the less.

And I know I can’t force anyone to see the truth. That’s neither my job nor my responsibility. But for the few people who will ever read this post … let me challenge you with this:
Take Him up on His offer. Trust Him! I have tried it and never regretted it! Am I perfect … by no means. Am I able to always make the right choice when it comes to filling the void inside of me or to coping with struggles that seem impossible to come thru? Unfortunately not. But it becomes easier to make the right choices when you have a record of God’s faithfulness behind you.

Leave a comment